The Story So Far (August 10, 2015)

In all the foreign language versions of MOTR songs there have been none (as far as I can make out) of ‘Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep’….so far..

 

 

Noting that ‘Volej, Volej’ hadn’t been a single I guessed that it must have been an album track…and sure enough, it was (the final track thereof)

 

http://www.discogs.com/Věra-Špinarová-Andromeda/master/597296

 

Wondering what the next-door track was like I tracked down this. So, ‘Our Věra’ wasn’t just a Soul Girl. She was a Blues Girl as well. Now that’s what I call perfection. It’s quite a build-up to a version of a Sunshine Pop song like ‘Soley Soley’. I don’t think you could get any more different. Don’t forget. She also did that slice of pure Euro Disco ‘fluff’, ‘Yes Sir, I Can Boogie’ – serious range, indeed!

 

 

…and here’s a bit of Blues and Soul rolled into one –  Věra performing a bluesey version of ‘Keep On Running’ in 1996. (Spencer Davis Group and Baccara!!!???)

 

 

 

 

Being an aficionado of things Moravian I love the fact that this excellent version of ‘Piece Of My Heart’ was evidently recorded in Ostrava….while I’d have been at Wilmorton (perhaps the most formative years of my life, between the ages of 19 and 20).

 

 

You know what. I think I’ve just uncovered one of the great Blues and Soul voices on the planet. How does that happen when you’ve spent your early years in a small town on the road between Brno and Vienna? Does that make her a sort of Czech version of Uffculme in Devon’s Joss Stone? Like they say, “It ain’t where you from. It where you at.”

Leave a Reply

