Všechno nejlepší k narozeninám, Aleš!

Today is Aleš Korábek’s Birthday! (Valérie Čižmárová’s No. 1 Fan!) Here he is with Valérie on the occasion of the launch of her ‘Greatest Hits’ compilation CD, ‘Léta letí’ on 4th October 2001.

ak_vc

When one thinks of birthdays one automatically thinks of parties….which links in very conveniently with a track by Valérie that has come to the fore in my mind over this past few days as a result of the current re-broadcasting of the classic sitcom of the 1980s, ‘Just Good Friends’, starring Paul Nicholas and Jan Francis as the premier romantic couple on TV in the 1980s, Vince Pinner and Penny Warrender. One of the songs recorded by Paul in his previous career in Pop was ‘Grandma’s Party’, which Valérie covered (in 1980) as ‘Můj bláznivý den’ (or is it ‘Můj bláznivej den’?)  Since the title means ‘My Crazy Day’, may I take this opportunity to wish Aleš a really crazy day (in all the RIGHT ways!)

vince_n_penny

It’s very interesting to note that the producer of ‘Grandma’s Party’ was Christopher Neil. This means that Valérie (a kind of current ‘girlfriend’) is doubly connected with two of my previous ones – the aforementioned Jan Francis, with whom I was hopelessly ‘in love’ for much of the latter half of the 1970s and the 1980s – first coming to my attention via the children’s adventure serial, ‘The Long Chase’, then later cementing herself in my affections as the ultra-sexy Belgian Resistance member, Lisa Colbert in ‘Secret Army’ and Thereza Bazar, the female half of Dollar, with David van Day (the premier romantic couple of Pop around the turn of the 1970s to the 1980s), who – in the Winter of 1979 – 1980…the ‘High Summer’ of the Mod Revival – had in the charts their cover of The Beatles’ ‘I Want To Hold Your Hand’ (slightly re-titled ‘I Wanna Hold Your Hand’), which was produced by Christopher Neil. Given the fact that Thereza could trace her ancestry to areas of the world very close to Valérie’s home town and given the fact that Valérie was, around the turn of the 1970s to the 1980s, heavily into that similar revivalist ‘vibe’, I would have loved to have seen her do something like this at that time…in a similar 1960s-influenced outfit. Who might have been her partner?

Since I have tried imagining Thereza Bazar as a real Eastern European, I suppose it is a case of, “Take it away, ‘paní Bazárová’!”

army2

I suppose all this demonstrates that I have gone in for both blondes and brunettes in my time (and the occasional redhead!)

Leave a Reply

