A day of successes…and…erm…’otherwise’

I had marked out yesterday – being as I didn’t manage it last time I was around these parts – for a visit to Eva Kostolányiová’s grave at the Nový Cintorín (New Cemetery) in Trnava, but unfortunately I hadn’t bargained for how a big a place it was and it might have been handy to have had a higher-tech mobile with me for the GPS, since, trail around as I might, I just couldn’t match it up to the picture, frantically attempting to look for a background that matched that in what looked like a South-facing view, if one looks at the shadows. Those bare trees on the centre-right were supremely tantalising! I’m sure I eyeballed them!

eva_grave

At any rate, it was quite a pleasant and constructive trip and I made a couple of purchases at the Hudobniny music shop that made my day.

First of all, on the walk across town to the station, I came across an advertisement for this Summer’s Beach Boys concert in Bratislava…marking a return to the city after having headlined the Bratislavská Lýra of 1969, when the seventeen-year-old Valérie Čižmárová made her debut there, performing her first single, ‘Sunny’ only a matter of a few weeks after its recording….so I wonder if she met the Beach Boys…or rather…if they had the privilege of meeting Valinka, if one is with the GOTGE ‘philosophy’.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Near to the Station, (and I don’t know why it’s not occurred to me before now), there’s a road sign which points one way to Beáta Karda’s home town in Hungary and the other to Jitka Zelenková’s home town in the Czech Republic. This is indeed my kind of place!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was the train I caught to Trnava.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and this was the same train as I alighted at Trnava.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and here is a mini-selection of rolling stock at Trnava, including one of ZSSK’s very nifty double-deckers. One doesn’t see these in the UK 😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The imposing and impressively Modernist main frontage at Trnava Station.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A very familiar sight to British people…especially in and around Derby. The Bus Station.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It brought me up with a jolt to see this WWI memorial…to the soldiers of which, at that time, would have been the enemy of Britain, as Trnava (known then, returning to matters Hungarian, as Nagyszombath, pronounced ‘Nodjsombot’) was part of the Hungarian half of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here was the riverside park where it was – by the (frozen!) River Trnávka, showing how cold it is here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I might not have seen Evička’s grave, but I did see that there was one of my beloved Co-Ops nearby, where I got a few bits and bobs to keep me going. One can tell how long I was trailing around the Nový Cintorín by how dark it is getting here!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leaving the best until last, also on the way to the Station in Bratislava, I dropped in on the Hudobniny music shop to see what I could find and emerged, much to my joy and satisfaction, with the biography of Jana Kocianová, (for not much more than 10 Euros) named after her 1972 single ‘Zahoď starosti’, by Marika Studeničová and a DVD (again, look at the price!) of Václav Vorlíček’s other cinematic masterpiece of the early- and mid-1970s, apart from ‘Jak utopit Dr. Mráčka aneb Konec vodníků v Čechách’ (‘How To Drown Dr. Mráček, Or The End Of The River Sprites In The Czech Lands’) (1974), ‘Dívka na koštěti’ (‘Girl On A Broomstick’) (1971), starring the multi-talented and absolutely stunning Petra Černocká – probably then twenty-one, although she doesn’t do too bad at sixty-seven, actually!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I see (and I can read some Slovak, if not actually speak it, as such) that Janka – sometime at the end of the 1970s – travelled, with her musical companions, in her trusty FIAT 127 – she must have been FIAT fan, since she is photographed in the book with a previous pride and joy, a FIAT 850…they didn’t all drive Škodas! – across England to the Castlebar Festival in Ireland via Holyhead.

There is a reference to the Catholic versus Protestant ‘thing’ in the book, which nicely ties in with my thoughts vis-à-vis Janka in the immediately-preceding GOTGE Blog post.

That must have been quite an experience…and now I know that at least one other GOTGE, apart from Helena Blehárová, made landfall on the island of Great Britain ‘back in the day’.

Our day on Watling Street!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

