I went away (to Slovakia) and did it ‘My Way’

Yesterday was the highlight of many highlights of the trip as I went for that very unusual creature; an ‘evening’ of Chanson with Marcela Laiferová starting at 3.00 in the afternoon and finishing with my arriving back at the Hotel Dominika while it was still vaguely light!

Showing how cold it still is here. Here are some studies of the frozen Chorvátske Rameno (The Croatian Branch)…now I have at last put a name to that stretch of water running through Petržalka. It is, incidentally, classified as a canal, but less to do with transport and more to do with flood regulation for the River Danube, so it would appear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are a couple of images of the Dom Kultúry Zrkadlový Háj, where the concert took place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are a couple of images of the flyers for the concert.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The concert opened with Marcela’s version of, variously, ‘If You Go Away’ and ‘Ne me quitte-pas’ – ‘Ak ma opustíš’ (if you go away)…and here is Marcela on the previously mentioned Slovak TV show from 1974, ‘Hľadám útly most’, singing that very song.

It concluded with that much-covered song written by Paul Anka, ‘My Way’ (as ‘Žiť za to stálo’…’Live As If It’s Worth It’) – with Slovak-language lyrics by Zoro Laurinc. Here is Marcela in more recent years in a JBS Production promo video with some photos of Marcela’s life.

We have previously encountered the phenomenon of singing versus medical careers in GOTGE – thinking about Isabelle Morizet/Carene Cheryl/Karen Cheryl, going for the former and Eva Sepešiová, going for the latter. Marcela seems to manage to do both and in that capacity has produced a series of self-help books under the umbrella title – followed by a word to fill in the blank – ‘Kľuč k…’ (‘The Key To…’)  and was selling and signing them at the end, so I had one signed (‘Kľuč k láske’ – ‘The Key To Love’). I fortunately had an interpreter in the shape of a local lass, Libuše (strange that another Libuše has recently figured in GOTGE) to explain to Marcela (who did speak a bit of English to me) about what I was doing there. Unsurprisingly, when I mentioned ‘Belper’ as where I came from the inevitable interpretation was ‘Belfast???’. I did wonder about taking photographs, but I didn’t want to get into any trouble. There will eventually be some sort of official photographic record of this performance in Marcela’s official Web presence, in any case, I should imagine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

