La mulți ani, Margareta, Angela, și Mirabela (70.)!

Today’s date marks three birthdays in ‘GOTGE-land’. Furthermore, these are three birthdays all from the same country – Romania.

9th July is the birthday of – in order of birth – Margareta Pâslaru (74 today), Angela Similea (71 today) and Mirabela Dauer (exactly 70 today).

Perhaps the most notable new material to have come to my attention regarding this auspicious occasion of late is this excellent – and, what’s more, entirely self-composed – song from that increasingly important year of 1973, ‘Timpul’ (‘Time’), released as simply ‘Margareta’, accompanied by Orchestra Alex. Avramovici.

Here are the lyrics, (credited to ‘Margareta Pîslaru’) together with an IMTranslator-based translation, suitably modified, from the original Romanian into English, some of which sort of sum up my feelings regarding my relationship with the World of GOTGE.

Timpul
Timpul te nvata atatea lucruri noi
Te ajuta astazi sa ntelegi
Tot ce ieri nu stiai sa vezi
Timpul , timpul
As da orice
Sa ntorc timpul inapoi
Sa regasesec tot ce am pierdut
Sa ndrept raul ce am facut

time
Time teaches you many new things
It helps to understand today
All yesterday you could not see
Time, Time
I would give anything
To come back during back
All I lost was regasesec
I’m heading to the river made

As da orice
Sa ntorc timpul inapoi
Sa regasesec tot ce am pierdut
Sa ndrept raul ce am facut

I would give anything
To come back during back
All I lost was regasesec
I’m heading to the river made

Timpul
Te a preschimbat din copil in om matur
Ti a adus iubirea
Si tot el ti a luat o inapoi
Timpul , timpul
As da orice
Sa ntorc timpul inapoi
Sa regasesec tot ce am pierdut
Sa ndrept raul ce am facut

time
He exchanged the child mature man
Ti brought love
And he took it back to you
Time, Time
I would give anything
To come back during back
All I lost was regasesec
I’m heading to the river made

As da orice
Sa ntorc timpul inapoi
Sa regasesec tot ce am pierdut
Sa ndrept raul ce am facut
Timpul iti da mereu cate ceva
Dar iti ia ntr o zi
Fara sa stii chiar viata ta
Timpul , timpul

I would give anything
To come back during back
All I lost was regasesec
I’m heading to the river made
Time always gives you something
But it takes NTR one days
Without knowing even your life
Time, Time

As da orice
Sa ntorc timpul inapoi
Sa regasesec tot ce am pierdut
Sa ndrept raul ce am facut

I would give anything
To come back during back
All I lost was regasesec
I’m heading to the river made

As da orice
Sa ntorc timpul inapoi
Sa regasesec tot ce am pïerdut
Sa ndrept raul ce am facut

I would give anything
To come back during back
All I lost was regasesec
I’m heading to the river made

It would appear that this is yet more entirely natively-conceived, very Soul-like 1970s Pop originating from the former Eastern Bloc.

Leave a Reply

