A couple of videos without the usual ‘bang’ for Fireworks Night

A decade ago today, Светла Стоева (Svetla Stoeva) passed away at the age of just sixty so, to mark that occasion, I have taken a couple of videos of her cover of The Bee Gees’ ‘I.O.I.O’, from the film, ‘Cucumber Castle’, ‘Хайо–Хайо’ (‘Hayo-Hayo’) and the flip side thereto, ‘Може би’ – ‘Može bi’ (‘Maybe’). As it was Fireworks/Bonfire Night and I had some chestnuts to roast on an open fire after collecting them from the gateway of a farm near where I used to live over on the other side of my home town of Belper one ‘project’ in which I have been engaged today was to take the satellite dish I have ‘re-purposed’ as a chestnut-roasting pan and a hob for an open fire to a nearby copse at Bessalone where I could grub out an instant fire pit, plus some coffee I had knocked through my vintage Sona percolator and some home-made parsnip and coriander soup the former thereof with coffee ground in my vintage East German-manufactured RG 25 grinder and the latter made with the blending stick attachment, to keep the former Soviet Bloc ‘thing’ going. In all the excitement of this new Bonfire Night tradition of mine, reflecting the family visits back in those Seventies days to the Superior Chinese Restaurant in Chesterfield as a replacement for fireworks, I went and forgot to ensure that I had a charged-up battery for my Olympus E-P3 camera and the necessity to get those videos recorded on the appointed date meant that I had to use my laptop. As a result thereof, the sound quality is not…how can I put this?…the very best. My apologies for this slip-up. Maybe I’ll have to make up for this in half-a-decade’s time on the Fifteenth Anniversary!

Here is the first of those songs, with the following recording credits.

Music: Barry & Maurice Gibb (cover of The Bee Gees’ ‘I.O.I.O.’)

Lyrics: Йордан Янков (Yordan Yankov)

Instrumental Accompaniment: Естраден Оркестър На Комитета За Телевизия И Радио (Estraden Orkestr Na Komiteta Za Televizia I Radio) – Variety Orchestra Of The Bulgarian Radio And Television under Дечо Таралежков (Dečo Taralezhkov).

…and here is the second, again, with the following recording credits.

Music: Парашкев Хаджиев (Paraškev Hadjiev)

Lyrics: Йордан Янков (Yordan Yankov)

Instrumental Accompaniment: Естраден Оркестър На Комитета За Телевизия И Радио (Estraden Orkestr Na Komiteta Za Televizia I Radio) – Variety Orchestra Of The Bulgarian Radio And Television under Дечо Таралежков (Dečo Taralezhkov)

Hopefully, 5th November 2028 will go with more of a ‘bang’ at ‘Girls Of The Golden East’!

Leave a comment