New page created at ‘Girls Of The Golden East’!

As it is, today, Donika Venkova’s seventy-sixth birthday and as her debut album…

…that I recently ordered, for no extra postage and packing, from Discogs along with the Svetla Stoeva single recently featured at this Blog, plus a single from Georgie Dann, linked with Valérie Čižmárová, for whom I run the ‘Sister Blog’ to ‘Girls Of The Golden East’, ‘Bananas For Breakfast’, via his own cover of Crackers’ ‘When Jo Jo Runs’, to go with Valérie Čižmárová’s ‘Oči nelžou’ (‘Eyes Don’t Lie’), ‘Al anochecer’ (‘In The Gloaming’)…

…was from the year 1973 today seemed the ideal juncture at which to create a new page at the Blog dedicated to the album, made of recordings taken earlier today, on that very birthday, too!

I’m not going to give the game away, although my older brother is already up-to-speed on this, to other visitors to ‘Girls Of The Golden East’, but there is a track on that album that will sound extremely familiar to most.

It strikes me as something of a link, incidentally, between the two artists for whom I have created a page dedicated to an eponymous album from 1973 that Donika Venkova was born in Sevlievo, near Veliko Tărnovo and that Eva Kostolányiová was born in Trnava, which is clearly a place-name directly cognate with the second part of Veliko Tărnovo. This particular November baby of the 1940s is, unlike Eva Kostolányiová, still with us on Planet Earth, happily enough!

I hope all my visitors will enjoy the album!

Leave a comment